It's hardly a secret that The Real Housewives on Bravo is my FAVORITE show. How sad is that? But anyway...
I never really thought about how different my love for, or experience with, the Real Housewives would be if I watched it in a different context. If you want me to be real, I watch this show in my living room, by myself, with a box of cookies. I yell at the screen, call them trashy, and sometimes even swear at them (oops....). If you asked me to watch it with my GRANDPARENTS....I think my experience would be a little bit different. I'd be much more behaved and civil while watching it. Or if I watched it in a crowded bar -- I'd probably act like I had no idea what it was for fear of looking like one of those stereotypical reality-TV loving girls who screams in a high pitched voice when her favorite character comes on (even though I kind of am that girl...). In that sense, I think that my overall reaction and appreciation for the show would be much different. If I didn't watch it in a context where I don't need to be careful of my reaction or try to keep myself from saying something inappropriate, I don't know if I'd like it as much as I do, or if I'd watch it as much as I do.
With having never taken the time to consider what media context really means to people and how they develop to either love or hate a show, I found this week's activity really, really interesting.
No comments:
Post a Comment