The term celebrity is a little ridiculous sometimes. I always thought it was funny too look
at these people who are just famous for being famous. You have families like the Kardashians, reality T.V. stars
like Flavor Flav and the cast of Jersey shore, and even people who have become
famous for a viral video on YouTube, the Bedroom Intruder guy. Why do these people end up becoming
“famous”? Most have not done
anything really spectacular. So I
decided to think of why I think these people are famous.
I have been a big fan of reality T.V. shows for a
while. I remember watching the
first season of Flavor of Love and watching Pumpkin spit in New York’s
face. I watched as Snooki got
punched in the face at a bar. I
laughed as Justin Timberlake called his mom in a panic on Punk’d. There was the time that Tyra had a
meltdown on America’s Next Top Model, and who could forget about the time
Jessica Simpson couldn’t remember if tuna was chicken or if it was fish.
I remembered how funny these moments were, and that is when
it hit me. I was not laughing with
these people, I was laughing at them.
Now that is not fair to say to all of them. If I met Justin or Tyra I would ask for a picture and then
brag to all of my friends about how I met someone famous–much like when I met Danny
Pudi on the street. I put
importance one these people because they make me laugh. I guess that is why I find them
significant. But should I? They have not done anything I think is
exceptionally cool. When I meet
artists and writers that I like I have them sign their work that I own and I
have a nice chat with them. If I
met Snooki I would ask for a picture and then check to see how orange she shows
up in the camera. She could
probably make me look whiter than I already do. I still can’t figure out why these reality celebrities
interest me so much. It probably
has something to do with the reason why I like the movie The Room.
No comments:
Post a Comment